Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Feb 1, 2007, 6:31 PM   #1

Hi, I'm new to the forum. I just ordered an FZ7, and it should arrive a day or two before my baby is born. With all the fuss about noise, I wanted to get advice ahead of time on how to get the very best shots in a low-lit hospital room. Afterall, I'll only have one chance to get his first couple hours captured, and no time to practice ahead of time.

What ISO? Shutter or aperature priority? Flash or no flash? White balance adjustment necessary? I'm brand new to digital photography, and haven't touched an SLR since photography class in high school-- so give me as much advice as you can think of! Thanks!
lisamichelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 1, 2007, 7:03 PM   #2

Hi Lisa

In good light noise shouldn;t be a problem at all - stick to ISO100-200 and for best results teh lower the ISO the better. Personally I always shoot in Manual mode - just prefer the control it gives you. Other settings the early FZ's like my FZ10/20 would always slightly overexpose so it may be a good idea to just slightly underexpose by -1/3-2/3. Theres quiet a few here that have the FZ7, including Donna who I think can give you a better insight on how to get the best from it. I'd recommened gettng a good quality UV filter to protect that lens - Hoya Super Pro would be a good one to get.

:O :?

HarjTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2007, 7:16 PM   #3

:?Excuse me for asking, but who is having the baby and who will be taking the photos?:?I admire your spunk, if you are doing both:?. I would think that flash would be the best in a low-light situation. As Harjtt, says low ISO, and good light are needed indoors. Right now, it so gloomy and low light, I can't even get a decent photo outside.
bayourebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2007, 12:48 AM   #4