Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Aug 25, 2008, 2:51 PM   #1

Hello everyone. This is my first post here. I got the Panasonic Lumix FZ-18 in early June and it's my first "real" camera. I'm just beginning to learn about the different settings, etc.

My biggest problem so far has been getting a clear, sharp, stop-action shot. When I take a picture of something that is moving, the moving object/subject is blurred. Grant you, I have mostly been shooting in iA mode, but I have tried a few of the other settings (High Sensitivity, Sports, Pet, Panning). I have yet to venture into the "manual" settings mode, as I have almost no clue as to what setting would be best. Faster shutter speed? Slower? :?

Any tips or advice? Thanks so much!

KarenB is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 25, 2008, 3:49 PM   #2

Well this is only my opinion but you need to find some settings that work for you.....and get away from the dummie modes......I feel knowing how the camera is going to meter and focus is the most important thing in taking nice photos......and all those modes change the metering and focus modes to what it feels is best.... ( if you can remember those settings) you may be able to get better results than I can with the modes....

I am pretty sure me knowing if I am using 1 area focus and perhaps CW metering is much more useful to me than , having the camera guess as to what I want.....

usually to freeze action you need a SS of about 1/250th sec. And here in PA that means opening up the aperture and perhaps raising the ISO.

But I feel if I use P mode with auto ISO and 1 area HS focus along with eith CW or spot meter I can control what my photo will look like , without me understanding the exposure completely.