Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Aug 10, 2010, 6:06 PM   #1
Default Calling all FZ35 users, jpeg or RAW?

Ive only been using jpeg. I know nothing about RAW, so for those that do, is it worth the trouble?

I mean, the files have to be converted and processed,yes?

Does it really help with the final image Quality of pics produced by the FZ35 or is it more suitable for dslr cameras?

Remember, Im a newbie,but Id like to learn

Sponsored Links
Old Aug 11, 2010, 12:13 AM   #2

Honestly, for most of what you will probably do, I think JPEGs are the way to go. They're simpler to deal with, and the incremental amount of information stored really doesn't get used unless you're big into using post-processing.

I personally use RAWs mainly when I want to do a semi-HDR scene but for one reason or another, can't take multiple frames of the same shots (i.e., don't have/not allowed to use a tripod, or there's just too much motion to capture something in place). Other than that, it's right to JPEG. Modern photo editing software handles JPEGs as adeptly as they do RAW, so the advantages that used to be there when editing RAW files just isn't as big anymore.
FlimFlam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2010, 3:07 AM   #3

I mainly use JPEG.

The big difference between JPEG and RAW is that when shooting on RAW, no processing has been done at all yet, which means that all the information of the photo is saved, and that you can load the RAW file on your computer, and easily adjust things like lighting, and each time you save the file, all this information is stored. Apart from that, RAW files can't be viewed on all computers with a default viewer, so you'll have to convert it to JPEG after you've opened it with Photoshop or such.