Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Nov 5, 2010, 8:25 AM   #1
Default early shots

Hi. Having recently purchased a FZ38, I took it out for the first time to a harbour near us to take some bird shots. I'm a complete camera novice, so I kept it on IA or P mode with just a 400 iso limit (no other changes), o get used to it before I start playing around.

I've got kind of mixed feelings about the shots I got - sized to my computer monitor most are fine, but zoomed in to 100% or using Picasa crop they're a bit fuzzy. Am I right in thinking that 100% is the full size picture rather than over magnified as it seems to be what picasa uses to crop? I know from seeing the amazing shots people have got on here that crisp shots are possible, so I think I must be doing something wrong. I would really appreciate any thoughts on the shots below so I can practice and get them better! Most of the shots are full zoom. Apologies also if I've linked the pictures in wrong- its my first try at getting them across from picasa. The web album link is: http://picasaweb.google.com/11838155...eat=directlink

1) Little egret

2)Little egret 2

3) Redshank

4) Houseboat - this is more of a composition question. This boat was incredible, but I wasn't sure how to take it. Any tips on how to compose the shot better would be great

Samble is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 5, 2010, 10:16 AM   #2

It makes me want to see more of it...the big pink and white thing on the right...etc.
lisalonewolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2010, 11:46 AM   #3

#1 - nice scenery shot, slightly overexposed, which can be fixed by PP
#2 - I really like this, the reflection of the egret is really pretty. Also slightly overexposed, so fixed it with PP, then crop the egret?
#3 - very nice bird shot, I would crop out the distracting surrounding
#4 - wow, crazy boat!
saly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2010, 4:52 AM   #4