Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Apr 17, 2011, 9:14 PM   #1
Default Not happy with Lumix ZS7 pics

I am looking for help with my new ZS7 . Since I am new to this camera (but not to point and shoots) I have been alternating between the Auto and P mode in an attempt to get an inside photo that is not blurry. Any action by the subject causes a blur in the picture (not the entire picture just the subject). I have not been using the flash as it seems to blow out the picture and there is enough light to take a photo without flash , but not without blurring. I also use the camera to take inside photos in concert/auditorium settings. After reading the many posts I took a suggestion to use 400 as the max ISO setting. I tried to upload a sample picture but was unsuccessful. What am I doing wrong? I am looking for any helpful suggestions to keep me from sending the camera back. Thanks.
koimom is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 18, 2011, 10:34 AM   #2

Try iAuto. I no longer have mine but, it's a great pocket camera. I *rarely* took it out of iAuto and got exceptional images.
Gary ---- "The best camera is the one you have with you."
Pentax K-3 ~ Panasonic FZ1000 ~ Panasonic ZS40
My Gallery

Hebrews 13:3
gjtoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2011, 1:47 PM   #3

It's not uncommon to need ISO 1600 or higher sensitivity with a bright lens to get many keepers with some stage lighting. In most [better] stage lighting around here, I expect to need ISO 1600 and around f/2.5 just to get shutter speeds up to around 1/160 second with proper exposure (which is too slow to stop rapid movement).

I'll sometimes use ISO 3200 to ISO 4000 with a dSLR wearing a bright lens, and even then, I may need to time some shots for the least amount of movement for better results.

So, seeing blurry images without a flash at ISO 400 is not surprising, especially with a zoom lens on a compact camera.