Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Jan 22, 2013, 1:10 PM   #1

Default Non suppoted camara pictures?

Hello
new member here...

Is there any way to get PhotoFunStudio or silkypics to recognize photos not produced directly from the camera (a Panasonic FZ200) ?? or even better from any camera?

For instance.
Generally both seem to only work with still photos from the FZ200 (and imported via PhotoFunStudio)

PhotoFunStudio will recognize stills captured from video (if captured in PhotoFunStudio)
but...
silkypics will not and seems to only recognize stills direct from the camera.

I'm new to silypics but do like some of it's ease of cropping and setting batch developement parameters.

Anyone know a work around or what it's actually keying in on to determine if a photo is recognized via those programs. I'd like to at least be able process the video frame captures along with still photos

Thanks
RandTx is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 23, 2013, 10:05 AM   #2

Most programs look at some data in the EXIF information recorded by the camera to determine whether a particular camera brand/model is supported by that particular version of software. That's how they force people to upgrade to newer releases...by not providing support for newer cameras models at older software releases. My guess is that PhotoFunStudio is altering the EXIF data clobbering information that Silkypics needs to validate the image. See if you can find a way to have PhotoFun preserve the EXIF data. Some software will wipe it out but some won't.

Tullio
Tullio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 11:44 AM   #3

Yeah maybe it's just bug in silkypics seems like they would allow photos from or modified by PhotoFunStudio but maybe not,

Here is what the EXiFs look like
Both say Panasonic
but one says the model is fz200 vs the other saying
PhotoFunStudio 8.3 PE and noting it as a captured still image