Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Sep 20, 2004, 10:52 AM   #1

Iam trying to get a entry level SLR camera. I amneeding one thathave a fast shutter speed in taking pictures on race track and moving vehicles. Since I am new to this, Ireally don't want to shell out a lot of money yet.I am looking at FZ15, but it doesn't seem like it's available yet unless getting it directly panasonic. I just realized that FZ15 is prolly the replacement for FZ10. I can't tell the difference from one another. Is FZ15 good enough to take picture of moving vehicles?
stsong is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 20, 2004, 2:31 PM   #2

You mentioned that you were looking for a digital SLR. None of the FZ series cameras is an SLR. Each of these is an "all in one" camera which has only one lens. You cannot change lenses on these cameras like you could on an SLR, although there are wide angle and telephoto adapters that can be used.
propwash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2004, 3:55 PM   #3

I see. I thought those are digital SLR.I have a Optio S that I just love,it's great tobring on trips. It has a slow shutter speed that I can't take picture with moving things. I would like to get one that has faster shutter speed. I am a newbie, I think the 'all in one' with faster shutter speed, good zoom range and decent mega pixelshould be good for now as I don't plan on making pictures bigger than 8x10. Can anyone tell me what is the difference between FZ10 and FZ15?
Old Sep 20, 2004, 5:09 PM   #4

Your little Optio S is actually capable of shutter speeds up to 1/2000 second (just as fast as the Panasonic models you're looking at).

Any camera must keep the shutter open long enough for proper exposure of the image. This is a matter of the available light, the brightness of the lens, and the ISO speed.