Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Oct 13, 2004, 12:31 PM   #1

whats up guys, first of all I would like to thank everbody
who has contributed in this forum. Because of you guys taking your time reading and replying I am a much better photographer and user of the FZ line cameras.

This is my first post ever here.

I just upgraded from FZ1v2 to FZ10 and need a 62mm polarizing lens. Someone mentioned just to get a linear but don't you need a circular lens if the camera has autofocus?

And is preferred to get multi-coated lens?

Thank you guys once again for everything.

Don't forget about us Bob

Rezajune is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 13, 2004, 3:02 PM   #2

In this thread:

"slipe" mentions that linear polarizers work fine with the FZ10.

And there's a little more discussion / information on polarizers here:

José A. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2004, 4:05 PM   #3

After researching some more I found out this.

Written by CK:

Since this question has appeared so many times here and elsewhere, I'd like to provide an answer once for all. I will try not to be to technical.

A linear polarizer has a single plate for polarizing the incoming light. When this plate, which is attached to the filter, is rotated, the polarized light will change "phase/angle."

Some cameras, especially those SLR/DSLR bodies, have a beam-splitter to split the incoming light to the viewfinder, AF system and metering. Each of these components requires some minimal amount of light to work properly. For example, the AF system usually requires an aperture of F5.6 or larger. Thus, this splitting of light should follow a constant ratio, say 80% to viewfinder, 10% to light meter, and 10% to the AF system (just an example).