Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Oct 16, 2004, 8:59 PM   #1

I am ordering the FZ20. I do have one question though.

I am a relative newbie when it comes to digital photography. I am currently using a 2 MP that I bought in 2000. All of my pictures will be taken in the full auto mode to begin with. I hope to grow into the manual features as i get better.

My question is: What kind of results can i expect in the full auto mode with the FZ20?
Treasuredude is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 16, 2004, 10:03 PM   #2

From what I have read, you can expect excellent results for the most part. I have the FZ3, and although I rarely use automatic mode, the few times I have tried it, I was very impressed with the results. I think you will be very happy. Good luck!
propwash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2004, 10:06 PM   #3

I have the FZ20. As far as point and shoot... It's great. This is my firs digital camera. I've had it for about a month now, and just sarting to learn that there is a whole new world beyond point and shoot, and if you ever want to go there, the FZ20 is a great camera for the journey.

bobc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2004, 11:33 PM   #4

I'll be the odd one out and say I was very very disapponted with full auto mode. The definition of good results is always subjective- so disregard me entirely if you like.
My expectations are high though- for the images I produce and I've always felt it's unreasonable to expect perfect images straight from the camera. I figure the human brain beats the camera's brain any day.
I have a 150.00 point and shoot that consistently produces better auto images. But- when using the FZ20 under manual mode the FZ20 wins hands down.
You'll be happy with the FZ20 or something comparable if you'd like to further your camera knowledge and learn along the way. The learning curve isn't very steep and photography is a rewarding hobby.