Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Jan 24, 2005, 5:55 PM   #1

I have recently ordered a Panasonic FZ20 camera after reading the excellent reviews at this and other forums. I am almost a complete novice to photography. I own a 3MP kodak which was giving me decent photos outdoors and indoors when my subjects are within a few feet as also scenaries in good light. However, I found that it just does not give good pictures in low light and even with just 3X zoom I get badly shaken photos. Moreover, it is very slow. So, I decided to get a good camera that is easy to handle in all conditions with image stabilization. After reading about the FZ20 for months I decided it should be the one I need. I am very excited about getting it soon.
As I said I am a complete novice and would like to learn basics about taking good pictures. I am thinking of taking photography as a hobby if possible. I have also ordered a "Digital Photography All-in-One Desk Reference for Dummies" to learn photography. Can anyone tell me how this book is? Or suggest a better book?
I also want to know what basic accessories are needed with this camera. I know I will need a fast SD card and an extra battery. Can anyone suggest which one to buy and where? I know nothing about filters. Do I need to buy them too?
I hope someone amoung you will be willing to get me started. I found this forum has some very nice people helping each other and thought I can also ask for help here.
Thank you all for reading this post by a novice and also thanks in advance for any help.
murali is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 24, 2005, 5:59 PM   #2

try this.........
nooner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2005, 12:50 AM   #3