Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Sep 12, 2005, 8:15 AM   #1

I have the opportunity to take photos at a local Golf Event and need to make it good. I need ideas on settings and how to shoot for the best pictures. I use a FZ20.

Would I want to use a filter. How fast to shoot, Manual or Program settingsect.....

This is my first opportunity of this kind and I want to make good on it.

Any help would be great.

RP33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 12, 2005, 9:30 AM   #2

I have no experience at shooting golf, but you will need to use a fast shutter speed,if you are trying to catch the swing.

Just a guess but it would need to be faster than 1/500 th of a second.

And while a Polarizer would add a nice effect it would rob you of a Fstop or two which you can not afford for the action shots.

I like to use Aperture Priority to assure a properly exposed photo but that can cause too slow of a shutter speed for action. If you try it on the action use F2.8.

I think the best thing to try is get a friend to swing a golf club or stick to see if you can freeze the action.

If not stick to other types of shots where I think the FZ20 will excel.

genece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2005, 1:25 AM   #3

There is absolutely no reason to use a fast shutter speed and freeze the action. Anyone can take that shot. Use a slightly slower shutter so that the clubs come out blurry. This will give a sense of motion and add a little twist to the image. If you use the right settings, the players and everything else will come out sharp. But don't overdo it. Too many of these shots won't look good either.