Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Dec 18, 2005, 10:42 PM   #1

I have been recently looking at a couple and I like the Idea of a Quick removable base for starters..

Is "Bogen" a good line? Looking at the 3001 tripod and the 3030 pan/tilt head..

very reasonably priced...
markstr is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 19, 2005, 3:32 AM   #2

I am no expert, but being that nobody has replied, I will put in my 2 cents (with inflation it is probably more like 10 bucks - but who's countin'....). Bogen is a good company, but the Bogens I own are big n heavy. If you want to take it outdoors, the best is Gitzo, of course it is the most expensive. There is a brand called Manfrotto, they look good. I have a fairly cheap Canon monopod that I use when I take out my FZ30. @ home n in the studio I use my bogens, very good but heavy and "Klutzey". As with anything it is what you need it for. Tripods are a hard thing to shop for, unless you go into a store. If you are an outdoor photographer, go for the Gitzo. There might be other rival companies but like I mentioned I am not that knowledgeable with the newer tripod companies. If you can afford it, go gitzo, if not, you gotta pick some other forum members. Hope I was helpful. Good luck to you, and don't hesitate to post pictures (I love pictures, it's why I became a photographer!!!!)
Nancy Gabby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2005, 7:38 AM   #3

The B/M line of tripods are excellent choices for the money and the 3001 is a good tripod.... If you usea tripod for varios things like macros and low angle shots you may want to look at the pro version the position possibilities with the 3001 pro is amazing.

If you may need a taller tripod look at the 3021 pro

genece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2005, 11:41 AM   #4