Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Panasonic Micro Four Thirds

Old Feb 14, 2012, 9:29 AM   #1
Default Where do I find GH2 FirmWare-update for an CA-ridden digital Oly-lens?

Hi folks!

I am the owner of a GH2 and not so happy anymore, after I bought a used Olympus ZUIKO DIGITAL 11 - 22mm f/2,8 - 3,5 in very good condition - which I connected to my GH2 with the original Four Thirds Adapter MMF-2.
All very nice and fine. Everything works, AF and aperture-functions and so on.

Name:  single_h12_02_13_0068_PortrSmooth2_458x680_90%.jpg
Views: 198
Size:  74.7 KB

Before I bought this lens, I studied the lens-tests* that I could find on the Net and thought it would be fine for my landscape-photography. After two days of "testing" this combo at home I find that there is much too much CA Chromatic Aberration (green and purple) all over the place.

I have never seen so much CA (being used to lenses from Nikon and Panasonic, which "sort out" any CA problem in their FirmWare (I think...?). So I thought I would try and update the OLY-lense's FirmWare maybe this would help.

From within the right download-page from Panasonic I followed the appropriate link to the "OLYMPUS Lenses firm update for Panasonic camera body":

But to my surprise i CANNOT find the Olympus ZUIKO DIGITAL 11 - 22mm f/2,8 - 3,5 lens anywhere on this page!

Anybody has an idea or suggestion in this respect?

And, yes - I checked that my GH2 has the latest FirmWare version 1.1 from 2011/12/7 - so the CA cannot be the camera.

*In this test (link above) the readers review rating for this lens was very good. It stated amongst other things, that: "Superb sharpness, CA, distortion; fast, wide; dust and splash-proof; vast DOF with Four-Thirds"

Thank you for your thoughts on this!

Quote: "Buying a camera doesn't make you a photographer. - It makes you a camera owner".
Curious about my photography?