Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Panasonic Micro Four Thirds

Old Sep 20, 2012, 11:57 AM   #1
Default Lumix G3 Close Up Filters

Hi There

I am hoping to get a bit of advice to help me use my Lumix G3 to take some close up images. I am mainly going to be focusing on skin but that would not be the sole subject. I didn't want to buy a macro lens without first trying a set of close up filters, purely for the cost. I have a set of filters (+1,+2,+4,+10) and I have had limited success getting the camera to focus as close up as I would like. The only filter that will focus at all is the +1. I have been unable to get any shots with the others. I am hoping to get close enough to clearly see skin pores, and similar levels of details in other subjects. I am using the standard 14-14 lens.

I'm not sure if you would need any further information to give any suggestions. I am very new to photography and it's possible I am not using the camera correctly, or close up filters are not good enough.

I don't expect anyone to spend too much time helping me but if there's a guide that you know of on this subject, or any tips to try out I would really appreciate some guidance.

Many thanks in advance.
antcox is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 20, 2012, 2:12 PM   #2

With a +1 diopter, the camera will act a lot like a P&S at shorter distances.
Each diopter will make the range of focusing narrower.
Try this to get the idea:
Set the camera to manual focus and add the +2 lens. Zoom to 42mm. You might want to set the camera to center focus. some of the cheap close-up filters are so distorted that only the center is clear.
Now get close to a distinct subject and very gradually move back and watch carefully for the subject to come into focus. Do the same thing with the +4 added.
Use something like a hand lotion bottle as a test subject to start. A flat subject will be easier to recognize the focus vs: a flower.