Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Panorama / Stitching

Old Aug 4, 2005, 12:03 PM   #1

This is my first attempt and I've been running into a problem that seems pretty common, my picture has creases in it. The pictures lined up suprisingly well(wasn't using a tripod) so I'm really just concerned with blending the creases out. I've downloaded a program called Xblend (because I have a Mac) but it wouldn't load up. Does anyone have any sugestions. Should I start from scratch on a new program? Even a tip for touching it up in photo shop would be helpful i.e. dodging, burning.¬*¬*Thanks for any help! -JDP.S.¬* I'm using P.S. elements2 at the moment.
JDoran is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 4, 2005, 12:51 PM   #2

The creases you are getting sound like differences in exposure or focus between the shots. You should pre-meter and focus on the part of the panorama that you think best represents the whole image from a focus and exposure standpoint. Then shoot all frames at that exposure and focus.

I think all cameras but Panasonic fix the focus and exposure with the first shot in panorama mode. If you have P&S Panasonic or a camera without manual controls or a panorama mode, the continuous shooting mode where you just hold the shutter down usually fixes the focus and exposure with the first shot. You can use pre-focus/exposure with the continuous mode if the first shot of the panorama isn't representative of the overall image in your view. I have a couple of cameras that continuous shooting is the easiest way to get a properly exposed panorama.

If you shoot water with ripples or waves they will give a crease as you describe even with the exposure and focus locked. The waves are in a different position for each shot and it will show. The only option there is to use the clone and smudge tool to combine the images.