Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Panorama / Stitching

Old Jan 21, 2006, 9:24 PM   #1

Folks, I recently tried to stitch two photos and the result was not bad. I am a complete novice in this area and would like to know a bit more. Can any kind heart tell me exactly what is involved in this process. Let say how many pictures do I need. Must they be of the same size, etc. We might use different software but I am sure the process will be the same. Kind of difficult for me to say exactly what I am looking for but let's hear from you. Kind regards. Jaki.
Aumma45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 22, 2006, 7:56 AM   #2

I´m not a pro, but few guidelines have worked for me:
  1. Use a tripod, or be careful and put the horizont at the same level in every pict.[/*]
  2. Do not use any polarizing filter.[/*]
  3. Neverset your lens to the widest aperture, due to the barreel distortion. 50 mm (equiv) wil work fine.[/*]
  4. Set the camera in manual mode, fix the aperture (for panoramas, I suggest a high aperture number) measure the ligth in all the frames and set the "middle" speed.[/*]
  5. Shoot fast, don´t take many time between shoots, or the ligthing conditiond will change.[/*]
  6. Be careful to overlap your shoots at least a 10%
[/*]
You can stich any number of pictures, I've seen up to 42 pictures together. I usually take 3 or 4.
msantos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2006, 9:56 AM   #3
E.T

msantos wrote:
Quote:
[*]Never*set your lens to the widest aperture, due to the barreel distortion. 50 mm (equiv) wil work fine.[/*][*]Set the camera in manual mode, fix the aperture (for panoramas, I suggest a high aperture number) measure the ligth in all the frames and set the "middle" speed.[/*]
Aperture doesn't have nothing do to with distortions and itsn't measured in millimeters. Also better stitching softwares correct distortions.