Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax Lenses

Old Feb 2, 2007, 1:42 AM   #1

I just picked up a *IST D on ebay, with 18-35 included. This isn't really the lens for the kind of shooting I do. Walking trails and climbing mountains gets me opportunities for landscape, wildlife, birds, flowers, and small, forest floor critters, so the shots will range from wide to narrow to close-up. If a 28-300 has reasonable sharpness through the range, that would be my preferred way to go.

Does anyone here have experience with these lenses from either Tamron or Sigma?

If the IQ is not that good, would I be better off with something like a 28-80 with a 70-300 ? Don't really want to be hauling the extra weight, but will if I have to.

VTphotog is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 2, 2007, 8:05 AM   #2

I'm no expert and most of my knowledge has come from other people here or what I've read in books (when it comes to lenses). From what I've gleaned, the way a lens focuses and operates is quite a bit different between wide angle and telephoto, and so it is very difficult for a lens to do both well, like 28-300. If you are looking for sharpness and good quality, you would be better off carrying two lenses. Your idea of getting something like the 28-80 and a 70-300 would probably work well (many people have been posting bird pictures with the 70-300 that are quite good). The only thing you might want to consider is how wide angle you want. While I'd be perfectly happy with the 28-80, others would want something wider than that (I do much the same type of photography and use a macro lens more than wide angle).
mtngal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2007, 9:35 AM   #3

i'd break the range in two. that's really asking too much from a lens. say 18-125 and 70-300. much better IQ.
Old Feb 2, 2007, 9:38 AM   #4

most 28-80mm are rated really low as far as IQ..