Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax Lenses

Old Jul 11, 2007, 8:09 PM   #1

Heyas all!

I finally think that I've settled on going with the k10d. Now I just need to pick a couple of lenses that will do most of the work that I need. Here's what I think I want:

a good value 25-70mm or so with max f2.8 or less, and...
a good value 70-200or300mm (not so picky about the f on this)

Thing is, I'm a teacher and would like to use this camera to photograph all indoor and outdoor activities at the school with good results. In the past, we've had nothing but blurred pics of basketball and other indoor sports. Hence, the bit of range in the 2.8 for low light. I will probably use that for some portraits as well. The outdoor stuff will be from the side of a field and in good light for the most part. That's why I need the telephoto. I'm not opposed to off brands (sigma, tamron, etc.) since I'm sure they have high and low end lenses too.

I'm looking at a budget of $1500 with camera. Any help you gurus can offer would be VERY appreciated! Thanks in advance!

sinjinx is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 11, 2007, 9:18 PM   #2

There is some very good info insome of the other discussions in these forums on this very subject. And you can browse the Sports & Action Photosforum to see what equipment they use.

To answer your question, there are the Sigma 28-70mm f/2.8 EX DG and the Tamron SP 28-75mm f/2.8 XR Di. Both are good lenses at reasonable prices, and available for the Pentax. The Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8 APO is also agood lens that meets your requirements.