Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax Lenses

Old Dec 31, 2007, 12:38 AM   #1

I am trying to decide which lenses will be best for me, and I thought I might get some good suggestions here. I have a *ist DL, the 18-55 lens, a 50mm 1.7, and a sigma 75-300. I will be traveling to Europe this spring and would like to get a good and versatile setup before going. So far, I have considered selling the 18-55 and 75-300 and getting a sigma 17-70 and 70-300, or keeping what I have and adding a sigma 24-135, or getting something like 18-250 (not sure what the FL's are, but I think Tamronmakes one, probably others too). I find that I like to use wide apertures, so having the f2.8 on the 17-70 and the 24-135 is a plus. I don't know which focal lengths I will want most, I was kind of hoping the experience of this forum could help me with some suggestions. While I'd like good quality, I need to balance it with cost, and as I'm not a professional... My budget is probably somewhere in the $500 range.

Thanks in advance.
srt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 31, 2007, 2:46 AM   #2

I think you have come to the wrong place.

The general advice here would be to buy the lot, and then starrt serious Lens Bying Addiction (LBA) :lol:

Seriously it does depend on what you want to photograph.

The 50mm would be the first in the camera bag. It should be sharp and good in indifferent lighting conditions.

Many users here like the 18-55 and it does provide that felixible wide angle for scenery and street scapes.

My camera came with a Sigma 18-125 insted of the Pentax lens and it is a good lens for for general work. I still carry a fast 50mm prime as well for more serious scenes.

I usually leave my larger zooms at home (includes a sigma 75-300) unless shooting sports.

If I feel that I may need a longer focal length I would carry my Vivitar Series 1 200mm f3 prime.

philneast is offline   Reply With Quote