Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Sep 19, 2006, 11:34 AM   #1

I am an avid nature photographer, and have thoughtof going for a k10D...

However I am not familiar with pentax lenses..(Nikon previously)...What would be a good one for equivalent of 300mm -35mm and costing around 300US??
Chesslanka is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 19, 2006, 3:22 PM   #2

Welcome to the Friendly Pentax Forum, Chesslanka!

Good, very good, are the 200 mm f2.8 Star lenses. There are two varieties, the manual focus SMC-A* 200 mm f2.8 and the auto focus SMC-FA* 200 mm f2.8.

Both are still available new from a Swedish Internet retailer, Scandinavian Photo, price 13000 SEK, approx 1800 USD. (same price for both!)

I bought my A* used, pristine,from a local site for approx 275 USD. Unfortunately you seldom find them for sale, though. If you stumble over one at an affordable price, buy it!

Two other top quality Pentax lenses are the 70-210 mm zooms. A manual SMC-A f4, (the best) and auto focus SMC-F f4-5.6, very close in optical quality. I have the F-version, Robar and Monza have the A version. We are all very satisfied with these lenses. These go for around 100-150 USD on ebay and are found at least once a week there.

For birding the A* 300 mm f4 (manual) and F* or FA* 300 mm f 4.5 (auto focus) lenses are extremely sought after, but the prices have gone through the roof, count on 1000 USD or more for a used one.

Now I have been talking about the very best of the best, prices are accordingly. Pentax primes have an overall very high quality. Some zooms like the ones mentioned above are very good, others are more like "average".

Two links to do your homework on Pentax lenses: http://www.bdimitrov.de/kmp/and http://stans-photography.info/