Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Sep 30, 2006, 11:23 AM   #1

I am really hoping someone here can help me out with a VERY confusingsubject -

I spent the last 2 months researching and trying to figure out which camera to buy. After much thought, I just put in an order for a K100d. I thought I could now just kick back, learn the physical aspects of the camera and be on my way. That was until I started exploring how to convert and edit my RAW data into JPEG's. WOW. I had no idea that the DSLR world had so many options and differences of opinon regarding workflow.

I think I have a basic idea on my workflow but would really appreciate a "double check" from others with more experience. Please keep in mind that I'm a noob and just looking for a good "starter" workflow.

My setup will consist of -

Pentax K100d
Photo Lab 3 (bundled with the K100d)
Photoshp Elements 4.0

Option 1:

1. Use Photo Lab 3 to open up and edit .PEF (RAW) files. Save them as JPEG's.

2. Photoshop Elements 4.0 would then basically only be used for the organizer.

3. For backups, all I would need to do is backup the .PEF and JPEG's.

Option 2:

1. Install Adobe DNG converter with ACR 3.4. Convert .PEF files to DNG.

2. Open the DNG files in Photoshop Elements. Edit within PE and save as JPEG's.

3. Backups would consist of original .PEF, converted DNG and JPEG's.

I read in other threads that ACR has support for .PEF files for my K100d through version 3.5 for Photoshop Elements. This has really confused me as the latest version of ACR on Adobe's site for Elements is 3.4. There is a 3.5 ACR update listed for CS2 but not Elements.

I'd prefer not to have to purchase additional converter software but would consider it if if there's a significant difference in the quality of the edited pics.

Thanks VERY much in advance for all replies.....

cameranoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links