Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old May 2, 2008, 2:33 PM   #1

Having just upgraded from the k100d to the new k200d, I'm still curious why Pentax took away the ISO 3200 setting and replaced it with the lower ISO 100, they should have had both on this model. The k100d took some amazing printable shots at 3200,best I've seen.I do like like sharpness in my pics and ISO 100 is most welcome but Pentax, give us the best of both worlds without shelling extra bucks for a K20 . I'm not a computer programmer but could this be corrected with a firmware update?
Barry in Dallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 2, 2008, 4:22 PM   #2

Hi Barry,

I'm no engineer, so this explanation might have some (or a lot) of technical mistakes, so take it for what it's worth.

ISO sensitivity range is tied to the sensor. The lowest sensitivity value is almost always the "native" value of the sensor, and will give you the best IQ. The Sony CCD used in the K200 is the same as was used in the K10 with a native ISO of 100, and the higher values are "pushed" by amplification of the signals from the "native" output. The highest value is the farthest that the designers can push the sensor and still retain a minimum level of IQ that they have established (where noise is generally viewed as at a level that is only acceptable in "emergencies").

The 6 MP Sony CCD sensor of the K100 has a native ISO value of 200, and could be pushed to 3200 (four stops) before noise reached a level that bordered on totally unacceptable. This amplification is done in the A/D (analog to digital) converter, and is then processed by the image processing engine in the camera.