Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Jun 9, 2008, 10:01 PM   #1

Just wondering if there are others who, like me, are probably going to stay with Pentax? I can't say I haven't thought about switching, lots of mid range Canon gear in these parts and Nikon is starting to make a bigger impact, but I am just an amateur photographer with a clear view of my own limitations.

I look at the work of the last two to leave (vIZnquest and ToXiQ)and realize that they were probably at a point where they needed something that Pentax couldn't offer. My photographic skills have not reached the point of matching the work of these two members so I have not reached this critical stage.

So, who is sticking around?

My reasons are simple:
1 - I can't afford a whole new system, only a lottery win could move me now.
2 - I am still getting a great deal of enjoyment from my Pentax cameras (the K10D is the closest to a "professional" camera that I have ever owned)
3 - My current photographic interests are well served with my present range of lenses (a fast tele would be nice but I can manage with the 300mm f5.6 end given the limited use I put it to).
4 - For many, many years I did not feel disadvantaged by using a simple K1000 (even after I briefly switched to Minolta AF gear I ended up handing the Minolta to my wife while I carried the old K1000). Therefore I don't really feel that I am restricted now. Remember that I am not at a level of proficiency that would require me to upgrade, most of our recently lost members left because of a specific role that Pentax could not fill.
5 - Cognitive dissonance, "Of course I made the right decision!"
6 - Along with my wife, Annette, there are now three other Pentax users that I regularly speak to locally. Goldwing85 is one of them. It is nice to have a small group with common equipment choices.
7- Did I mention that I cannot afford to switch anyway?