Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Oct 3, 2008, 5:51 PM   #1

Newbie here. Howdy.

I just received my Sigma 70-200 HSM F2.8 II lense. It's great, but my plans to use it with a 1.4X teleconverter were dashed when I read the pink flier that came with it. Basically it says the AF will not work with the teleconverter. HSM is not yet supported with the Pentax mount.

A call to Sigma verified this. A design is being worked on, will be available some time, but there's no schedule available. Check back next month. I've already been there with the darned lens that took years to be made available since the announcement and I don't even see an announcement from Sigma for this next teaser.

The confusing part is that many retailers state that AF is supported by the current Sigma 1.4X teleconverter - even listing this specific lense (with HSM). After talking with Sigma, I do not believe them.

Questions: what's the straight scoop? Does anyone else offer a Pentax HSM teleX?

By the way I have a K10D and following a firmware update all works will with the lense.

sparkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 3, 2008, 7:23 PM   #2

I have not been following this lens release closely, but what Sigma is telling you fits with what I have read thus far. The 70-200mm is, I believe, their first HSM release for Pentax K mount. Pentax has had an HSM teleconverter on their lens roadmap but I can't tell you if it will work with the 70-200mm or not.

On a different note, I would love to see some pics and read your impressions on the 70-200mm, especially your thoughts on sharpness and focus speed. I am pretty well set on the Pentax 50-135mm but the Sigma remains a possibility if the quality is there.

NonEntity1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2008, 7:40 PM   #3

Thanks Tim.