Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Jan 19, 2009, 12:04 AM   #1

[img]file:///C:/DOCUME%7E1/ADMINI%7E1/LOCALS%7E1/Temp/moz-screenshot-3.jpg[/img]OK, one more try.

I little background first. I'm used to using a pentax K1000, I'm not scared of manual.

I recently bought a Pentax K10D, and there's just too much that the camera tries to do itself. I don't own any autofocus lenses, bout the only thing automatic is the aperture on my 50mm.

I can't figure out how to get the camera to give me an exposure meter while letting me set the aperture and the shutter speed myself. I'm sure it's in the user's man(;ual, but if you've seen it, you can guess why I'm here.

I'm not good with automatic, automatic takes bad pictures (least in my case). any help would be much appreciated.
2ndPSP is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 19, 2009, 1:06 AM   #2

Hi and wecome to the forum. I've got a K20D, which is similar I think. Whats wrong with putting the top left dial on M for manual. Then it's up to you to dial aperture, shutter speed and ISO. Manual enough? But don't neglect the other settings: shutter priority, and aperture priority. They really are very good!

beachboy2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2009, 1:53 AM   #3

Welcome to the Friendly Pentax Forum!

To be able to use your older K and M-lenses (I guess your 50 mm is a manual focus A-lens) you have to get into the menues (Spec settings, the last menue) and set "Use aperture ring" or something like that (my menues are in Swedish) to "Allow".

Only after doing that you can set the aperture with the aperture ring on the lens (or rather, only then the camera can "read" your setting). With your 50 mm A-lens, always keep it on "A" and use the thumbwheel on the camera to set the aperture.