Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Apr 4, 2009, 2:03 AM   #1

I've been playing around this week with Photo Matix. I've always wanted to try HDR but didn't know if I'd want it enough to pay for a software program. I had tried the HDR option in CS4 but it seemed like I just got the worst of each exposure, instead of the best.

I started off using the raw files with Photo Matix, and discovered the problems you get if you are trying to take anything that's blowing in the wind, or moving (like the camera because even with a monopod I'm not good at holding it completely steady for a 5 exposure burst bracket), and I thought what I was getting was a bit soft for my taste.

Then I discovered that if I converted the raw files using DXO's default settings first, then use the tiff files in Photo Matix, the little bit of extra sharpening that DXO does helps the program line up the objects in the picture.

What do you think about these pictures?

There are several different ways of doing HDR, and they produce very different results. In this case, I liked the boat from one method but the background from another, so I just moved the boat from one version to the other.

It seems to do quite well with interiors. It doesn't show as well in this picture (you can see it clearly in the full sized picture) but the two people on the sofa are both looking at laptop computers!

I can't decide if I like this picture or not. And if there's any way to improve it. This one I used the raw files, and the program did something I didn't like to the color, so I converted it to b&w. I think the picture may be an "almost" picture, unless someone has some suggestions. There are things I really like about it.

Here's two different versions of the same picture, processed with different methods. Which one does everyone else think is the better picture?