Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Apr 6, 2009, 12:13 PM   #1

Ok so I am a college student and I have begun taking photography courses and am interested in photography as a career or a serious hobby. I already own a K10 and my mom and I share a few lenses. (Nothing much yet) But I am wondering, before I spend my money on a Pentax flash and possibly a new tripod and a remote, is Pentax going to be enough for me?

I love photography and am just a beginner at this point in time but in your honest opinion do you think it might be a good idea to switch over to Nikon or Canon (preferably Nikon if I do) because of their higher end cameras? I really don't want to spend thousands of dollars on lenses and than not be able to proceed farther. Is it worth it to switch over to be able to have a full frame sensor camera later on?

Hope that was clear and thanks for any advice ahead of time.

Oh and one more thing. Whenever I go to Ritz or Action or the like, I try out the Nikons and Canons in my price range yet they don't feel as sturdy and reliable as my K10 has been. And also I would only have a thousand dollar range for a new camera if I were to get one.
Snoodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 6, 2009, 12:38 PM   #2

I doubt, in your $1,000price range, that you will find anything in the Nikon or Canon line up that is more feature rich than your K10D. For that matter you could move up to a K20D for under $700 right now.

A tripod is an investment that will withstand camera brands, at least that is one thing (1/4 inch tripod socket) that is common among all brands.

As far as a flash, you could get an Auto flash like the Vivitar 285HV that will work accross other camera brands, just not in TTL mode. I have a Pentax AF360 and probably would have gone with a cheaper Auto flash like the 285HV had I known then what Iknow now.