Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Sep 8, 2009, 5:18 PM   #1
Default Thrice now...in 40 years I came close to switching from Pentax

But in the end I didn't. I think I stayed with Pentax due to the quality of the lenses, the final product...the pictures and the (touch wood) great reliability.

I originally bought my first SLR in the late '60's. It was a Pentax S1a. I worked in the publishing field, back then and my Uber Boss...the Publisher..told me that I needed to also take pictures that were publishable...to coin a word.

I met with the photography department and they indicated that I needed to use 35mm, an SLR and either Nikon or Pentax. I chose Pentax as it was about $ 20 cheaper than the equivalent Nikon.

Notice that Canon wasn't even a consideration back then. Canon had a great little Rangefinder, similar to the Leica, but by the late '60's SLR's, not Rangefinders were the camera to have.

Canon's SLR's weren't much to write home about, then.

In the early '70's I had a chance to buy a Nikon F Photomic. Very nice camera, but I found the viewfinder dim. Bought a Pentax ES 11 instead.

In the early '60's I really thought about getting a Canon F1...beautiful, rugged camera, but got a K mount Pentax.

Still like the Photomic F and the F1.

Fast forward to the modern, digital age...2006-2007 .

Didn't like the Pentax istD (the name I think), didn't like the basic Canon DSLR, liked the Nikon D80.

Thought maybe it might be time to go to another system, make the break as it were.

I looked long and hard at the Canon 30D, the Nikon D200...liked them both.

Then the K10D came out...with SR in the body, weather resistant seals /body and the sensor cleaner.

A buddy with one of those other cameras was cleaning his non Pentax sensor every month and I sure didn't want to do that.

I bought the Pentax K10D in Nov., 2007. Been very pleased with it.