Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old May 23, 2010, 2:26 AM   #1
Default This Jumping Spider thing can be addicting. . .

Hi All,

Went back to the Nature Center to try to get some more shots of Jumping Spiders. I found about 20 really tiny ones on one wall, and assumed they were babies (1-3mm bodies -- I needed to take a few shots at close to 2:1 and chimp them just to see what they were). I just sat down on the sidewalk, set up the K20, Sigma 180, 1.7x AFA, and the Metz Macro Slave and waited to see if anything bigger appeared.

After about 10 minutes, I saw two dark spots on an adjacent wall, and went over to see what they were. The first was a housefly. . . The second was a black and white Jumping Spider maybe about 6-7mm long (just the body)! I started shooting, remembering to shoot at longer distances to get more DOF.

This guy's not as cute as the smaller brown ones, but those eyes still look like big round goggles, and it was still small enough not to seem threatening at all, even when it filled the VF. The one thing that was disconcerting was that it jumped a couple of times with no warning, and this happens so quickly that it just seemed to disappear into thin air, and looking through a macro, even though my brain knows that it's over 2 feet away, it just looks like it's right in front of my face, so I immediately recoiled and pulled my head away from the camera, then looked around to make sure it didn't jump on me -- I don't like crawly things on me. . .

Here are some of the shots from this set. I thought it would be a nightmare trying to keep some detail on the black body against a white background, but the K20 and Metz just handled it. . .Notice the iridescent green chelicerae (these are like jaws or mandibles, and the fangs they use to paralyze their prey are located on the ends of these).