Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Aug 29, 2010, 4:43 PM   #1
Default Basic Setup

Hello all, I am a newbie to DSLR, but have been in the digital point and shoot arena for 10 years. I ordered a K-X kit and am waiting for it's arrival. I haven't touched a SLR (Pentax K1000) in 25+ years and have spent some time reading your forum to re-acquaint myself.

I have a few questions.

I was surprised to read several posts suggesting not to use a protective filter. I always used a polarizing filter in the old days as an added measure of protection. Several posts I read left me with the thought that the filter would only add another level to shoot through that may cause less than acceptable results. Am I understanding this correctly? Is this a "new" line of thinking in the photo world?

I will be looking for a bag of some type and wanted some feedback about types (backpack, slingbag, etc.). Obviously, I will ultimately need to make and live with this decission, but I am hoping to benefit from everyone elses experiences.

And lastly, if there are any suggestions/necessities I should consider to complete a basic set-up those suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Osnap65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 29, 2010, 6:45 PM   #2

Well, first let me welcome you to the best (and friendliest) Pentax forum on the web.
You made a good choice with your K-X. I think you'll be more than happy with it.