Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Feb 7, 2011, 3:18 PM   #1
Default I'd like to know everything I need for a good flash setup. (I know, beaten to death)

I have a pentax K-r.
I am looking to buy anything that i would need for a good portable flash setup. All i am aware of so far is the flash itself, and something called a "flash slave" (is that a bracket?). I think i want P-TTL? Are there cables and adapters i will need? Are there flash diffusers I will need? I am a super beginner when it comes to flash. I have never used one, and have only used the on-camera flash once or twice.

I think i want a flash that will swivel, for portrait?

My budget is roughly $300-$400 for everything.

I am aware of the http://pttl.mattdm.org/ site, but it only tells about the flash itself.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
If there is another thread on what is needed for a setup, let me know.

Last edited by ewheeler20; Feb 7, 2011 at 3:21 PM.
ewheeler20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 7, 2011, 4:18 PM   #2

sorry, that post sounds a bit pushy. I did not mean it to be that way.
ewheeler20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2011, 9:49 PM   #3

I appreciate your cry for help. I have a Pentax 540 flash and use it on occasion. However, flash is one topic I feel completely mystified about. Every time I think I've got a bit of a handle on it, I discover it doesn't work the way I thought it did. So I'm hoping someone who really understands it all can explain it to you in such a way that I can follow it. And thanks for the link - I hadn't found it before, sure looks interesting.