Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Sep 2, 2011, 10:45 PM   #1
Default Irene's destruction

Hurricane Irene was downgraded to a tropical storm before it reached Vermont, but it still packed an incredibly powerful punch. Destruction was widespread, and in some areas it occurred on an unimaginable scale. I am very sorry to say that several people lost their lives in the storm, and dozens -- no hundreds -- of homes and businesses have been severely damaged or destroyed completely. My office building was flooded, and it appears unlikely that we'll be able to return before winter sets in.

I have spent most of the past week shackled to a computer, helping coordinate logistics for the emergency response, but because I have some knowledge of hazardous materials spills, and because I am familiar with the design and construction of gasoline dispensing systems I was asked to check into the damage at a small country store in northeastern Vermont. What I saw astonished me. The gasoline tank sitting on the ground surface was, before Irene arrived, buried deep below the ground surface. The concrete slab that was poured over top the tanks, is cocked at a bizarre angle, and the fiberglass piping that used to run from the tank to the dispensing island is twisted and broken. I found it amazing that the river jumped its banks and ran across this lot, destroying the gasoline tank system, but leaving the building with only minor water damage.

As I said, there was very widespread destruction, and much of it was far worse than this one facility that I visited. But this will give you some idea of what many people in Vermont (and many other northeastern states) are dealing with.
Attached Images
mtnman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 3, 2011, 8:05 AM   #2
Location: Hebron, Kentucky (northern Kentucky/Greater Cincinnati):KCVG