Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Feb 22, 2013, 3:57 PM   #1
Default Pentax K-30 vs Canon T4i

I know what I'm getting myself into with this question...I think. Hopefully no one will tear my head off.

From what I'm reading, I think the Pentax is a better camera. It's missing some features that would be nice to have like the touchscreen (or an articulating screen in general) but I could probably live without that as my current camera (Panasonic FZ47 superzoom) doesn't have those either.

One of my big concerns however is the lenses. Canon seems to have alot of options and alot that are decently priced. There are seemingly gems like the Canon 50mm f/1.8 EF II that can be had for like, 100 bucks. In addition to a nice range of other prime lenses, normal lenses, etc.

A rough search lead me to Pentax lenses that seemed significantly more expensive. I'm not a professional shooter...I'm trying to make it my hobby, not a career, or even a side business. So I don't see myself investing $400 in a single lens. I'd like to eventually acquire enough lenses that I can take the photos I want (some landscape/cityscape, portrait, and travel) and not have spent $5000 on camera and lenses.

I guess what I'm saying is, I think the Pentax is a better camera, even with the missing features and that the pricing seems better than the T4i but that I may never get the best out of it, or even what I want out of it because I won't want to drop $400 for a lens. Am I right in this, or are there decently priced lenses out there that I can use?
sumx4182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 22, 2013, 6:44 PM   #2