Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old Feb 16, 2005, 11:06 AM   #1

This is my first post here as I am new to the digital world. I have used film slr only. I am debating as to the ist ds, d70 or the fz20. I wonder if the dslr is too much to handle for a newbie but I don't want to plunk down a large chunk of cash on something I might outgrow in the next couple of years. I want a good solid camera that will last me a long time which i can grow into. I am completely clueless about software and all the tweaking in photoshop (but plan on learning) so am unsure as what to do. help!

I do quite a bit of shooting for friends and family (family portraits, kid shots, b&w etc). Right now it is just a hobby but like the possibility of this growing into a small business. i want to make the right investment, the first time.
amyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 17, 2005, 11:47 AM   #2

I recently purchased the *ist DS which was quite the upgrade from my old 35mm pentax. I'm very happy with the purchase. I have only two complaints about switching to digital.

1) I don't like the crop factor with the digital. Using the same lens for film and for digial, the digital essentially crops the image that the film would see. I think the crop factor is 1.5. Some people say this turns a 50mm lens into a 75mm lens, or a 300mm lens into a 450mm lens, but I disagree. It only crops, it doesn't change the perspective.

2) Occasionally dust will get on the image sensor. You'll notice blemishes, especially in pictures with the sky. The blemishes are easily photoshopped, and the dust can be cleaned with a special sensor cleaner. It's pretty easy to do if you can follow instructions.
jesterDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2005, 9:08 PM   #3