Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Old May 22, 2006, 8:07 PM   #1

I had my heart set on getting the *ist DL until I saw that the K100D and K110D. Anyways I'm a beginner photographer on a budget and I was wondering if the K110D is worth the wait. The price difference I believe would be around $100-150 but I would have to wait till August which gives away my whole summer to learn/practice photography.

Anyways I would like to know if it's worth the wait or should i just get the *st DL now.

That being said also what are some good sharp lens to work with at cheap prices.
freeflying is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 22, 2006, 11:21 PM   #2

Tough question. I owned a Panasonic FZ30 for a month and wasn't all that impressed with the anti-shake on it, so if it were me, I'd be buying the DL sooner, rather than waiting (I might wait a little bit to see if the official notice will lower the DL's price a bit). If you get the DL you'll have a nice camera and the summer to have fun and get lots ofpractice. And by the end of the summer, you'll know if you'll need anti-shake or not - just my 2 cents.

If you don't mind learning how to use manual lenses, the old 50mm f1.7 lens is very sharp, shouldn't be too expensive and is easily available.
mtngal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2006, 8:56 AM   #3

Anti-Shake is not worth paying more for or waiting for if that is your deciding factor. It is not as worth while as most people seem to think it is and I would not buy the 110D (actually the 100D only has anti-shake, the 110D does not) just to get that feature.

The 11 point AF sensor and USB2 are reasons to get the 110D/100D over the DL in my opinion, although there is a limit to how long I would wait for the camera to come to stores.

ennacac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2006, 9:10 AM   #4