Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Pentax / Samsung dSLR, K Mount Mirrorless

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Aug 11, 2006, 7:00 AM   #1
Senior Member
Peacekeeper's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,024

I am without my camera for the next two weeks, :shock::shock::shock::shock::shock:

I just orderd my new lens (Tamron SP) and it will be here next week (I hope)

I was down chatting with my Pentax repairman as he showed me his exquisite Pentax lens collection of rare glass (jealous jealous) and I bragged about how cheaply I got my new 200-500mm lens. :lol::lol::lol:

I was comparing my DL against the K100D and had them up against each other and looking at the differences in the body and decided to do a comparison between the viewfinders.

Thats when I noticed.......:?:?:?:?:? the top of my viewfinder looked like it had a dip in it, a sag. The top black edge as you looked through the viewfinder looked slightly dipped down like it had melted or some of the "whatever" had moved and dislodged...:O:O:O

I asked him to look at it and being a great bloke he did, he says that it will be the focusing screen.

So he pulls the screen out, re-aligns it, gives me a freebie sensor clean and goes "There you are."

Guess what???? Nope, still crooked. He goes, "I will need your camera for the day and maybe most of tomorrow I will need to take the top off your DL"

So I ring him today to see what time I can pick my camera up and he asks me if I am still under warranty, (Yes I am) and he goes on to tell me that it will need to go back to Pentax for two weeks to have a new what ever fixed replaced.....

I wonder if they will upgrade me to a K100D :G:G:G:G:G:G:G

So right now I am having camera withdrawals, it is not that I NEED to have my camera, it is that fact that I CAN't have my camera if I wanted it.

For all you Aussies out there...."Not happy, Jan!!!!"

This might some way to explain why I needed the LL-60 focus screen to get my shots level, I am forever shooting at a lean..:?:?:?

Peacekeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 11, 2006, 12:44 PM   #2
Senior Member
mtngal's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Frazier Park, CA
Posts: 16,004

I don't have any excuse like that, and I still get my horizon lines leaning. I figured that it's because I'm just a little off-kilter...

I feel for you - you have my sympathy - nothing worse than being camera-less!
mtngal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2006, 12:57 PM   #3
Senior Member
Catbells's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 874

mtngal wrote:
I don't have any excuse like that, and I still get my horizon lines leaning. I figured that it's because I'm just a little off-kilter.
Getting the horizon level must be one of the more difficult things to accomplish.

I believe the problem is that the eye (brain) views the scene correctly but the user fails to correct for the position of the camera.

Fortunately, post processing levels things out nicely.
Catbells is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 4:36 PM.