Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > People Photos

Old Apr 18, 2007, 8:44 PM   #1

I will be shooting pictures of graduation on the football field with my Canon 20D and Sunpak 383 flash. I have been having a hard time trying to use the flash as fill flash without blowing the picture out. It has been so disappointing that I have been leaving my flash at home. This is a big event and I don't want to miss it. Can anyone give me some help on how to set up my camera and flash? Should I leave the flash at home before I chunk it in the lake? I have just a small amount of time to work the bugs out before the event if anyone has anything for me to try.

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"Help

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"RP33
RP33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 18, 2007, 9:30 PM   #2

I'm no expert. Just self taught using the trial and error method. lol And I read a lot of the forums (mostly Kodak and PSP) for ideas and help.

First, there is no info sent back and forth between the flash and the camera other than the camera telling it to flash. I assume you have the intructions for the 383 sunpak.

The auto modes for this flash on let the flash adjust itself for the amount of light at a distance. The auto sensor on the front of the flash does this as it flashes.

The 3 auto modes are for use at 3 different distance ranges.

As you shift the auto/manual selector switch to either the green, yellow or red 'A' you will see on the F-stop scale the recomended F-stop setting for this auto mode.

The next scale down shows you the distance that the selected auto mode.

The ISO selector should be set at the speed you will be using. Changing this will change the F-stop setting recommended.