Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Photo Critiques

Old Mar 8, 2006, 12:52 PM   #1

So can anyone give me any advice. i'm very new to photography, doing a lot of reading and such.

was lucky enough to go somewhere very beutiful with my camera.

xxvga is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 8, 2006, 1:00 PM   #2

I'm quite new to photgraphy myself but there are a couple of small things I'd try. First off the images are both beautiful but the first is quite faded or dull while the second is very vibrant. I think that if the first had the depth of color the second has it would be much more captivating. From the image it appears that it was quite foggy or misty so that would influence the colors but if you could find a way to pull the colors out that would make a great travel poster. And I do love the monkey.

JunixRose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2006, 1:36 PM   #3

i'm having trouble believing you are new to photography.

though not technically perfect, both of these shots have merit.

1st shot is a bit dark and soft, but probably seems more so because of the heavy mist.

if you were to slow the shuter speed a bit (if hand held, it would be tough to keep in

focus), you would have let in a bit more light and the water would have a much

desired blurring effect.

the second shot of the monkey is actually really good. the subject is completely in focus

and it looks as though you even aplied the "rule of thirds" (the subject is not centered,

but to one side or another by thirds).

very nicely done, xxvga.

E.S. Crawford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2006, 1:43 PM   #4

Thanks for the comment. Actually, I have only been taking pictures for two months now, and haven't taken that many. I have been doing a lot of reading and did read about the rule of 2 thirds....the second picture was cropped that way.