Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Photo Critiques

Old Apr 13, 2006, 3:52 AM   #1

my first pic taken this morning. Newbie here so comments &critiques appreciated..
Attached Images
spicedgold is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 13, 2006, 8:40 AM   #2

It is not bad photo at all, taking into consideration that it is first one..... hope to see more..

ZAKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2006, 10:37 AM   #3

if your main focus was the dew onthe leaves then i would consider cropping out the pink flower in the corner, my eye went immediately to that, but nod bd as Zak said, for your first shot with a new camera.

Log is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2006, 11:01 AM   #4

As an exercise... consider taking a few pictures from various angles. Print them out 8 by 10 if possible. Study them from a distance where you fist held in at arms distance in front of your face just covers the picture. ( aprrox.3 feet). Pick what you consider the best. Look for bright spots that might pull your eye away from your point of interest. Which compositions avoid this. Look for leading lines that bring the viewer into the point of interest. Look for compositions that use the rule of 3rd effectively. Look at the backgrounds. Do they add or detract from the point of interest. Put your images away for a week. Study the images from Steve's. Go back to your images and critique yourself again. Aim to be your own worst critic for brief periods of time but remember set that aside and enjoy the art you create.

RR gets off Soap Box and shuffles off quietly................................stage right :roll:

RedRhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2006, 4:33 PM   #5

You have done well to get the exposure nice and neat.