Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Printers > Photo Inkjet

Old Nov 15, 2006, 4:50 PM   #1

Hello, i am a newbie in digital photography and i own a10Mp Sony DSC-R1. I would like to print the beautiful photographs it takes in an A3/A3+ size (13x19), keeping the maximum photo quality andbeing sure my photographs still look really good even when my 2 years child has become an adult. Can someone among you suggest a good printer that matches these requirements?

- Lab-quality printouts up to 13x19;

- Stand-alone printing capabilities (i.e. able to print directly from my DSC-R1 without a computer, possibly "pictbridge"), VERY IMPORTANT - even without an lcd display;

- Long-lasting printouts (framedand keptin daylight), no less than 30 years;

- Possibly waterproof printouts (i guess it to be very difficult for inkjet printers, so i can live without);

- Affordable price (say $500 shelves price).

I have heard good things about 3 printers: HP 8750, Canon i9900 and Epson R1800 (maybe the last not stand-alone?), but in my town i can't test them and i don't know wich one could be best for my needs; also, i don't know if thereis any other model that would be more appropriate for me. Please, can someone help me?

Thank you in advance for your kindness.
Luca72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 16, 2006, 12:46 PM   #2

Staples (in-store only) has HP 8750 on clearence for $229. Although it is not the latest and greatest, the price is right.
Foxbat121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2006, 1:46 PM   #3
JPL

First of all, you might post your question in the "wide carriage inkjet" forum for additional replys.

May I ask why stand alone is "very important".

Eventually a computer is going to be needed.

When you want a picture to last a long timeyou want to make sure that the image is perfect. Sometimes you need to re-touch it using a photo editor.