Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Printers > Photo Inkjet

Old Jan 4, 2007, 9:39 PM   #1

Hi everyone, I'm new here, and like the bustling community here.

I hope I'm posting this in the right forum, so I'll ask my question and hopefully somone will have some insight:

I am looking for the perfect printer and paper to use for my cartoon-art printouts.

I work as a caricature artist, and have a selection of celebrity caricature/cartoons that I'd like to turn into prints and sell.

My work is done digitally in photoshop, so all colours are digital- no paints or pencils, etc. No scanning of artwork is involved either.

I've been using the HP990cxi inkjet for about 5 years now and have been very satisfied with the results of my prints. I have also been using Likon photo paper (which can be found at dollar stores) and the results are quite amazing for the price.

Unfortunately, a good thing can never last too long- Likon has changed their paper somewhere along the lines, and the quality of the prints has now dropped drastically. A good thing gone by, I guess!

What I'd like to look into now is possibly a new printer which could replace my 990cxi (which is getting older) and now, I guess I need a new line of paper. I refuse to go with the HP/Canon, etc. brands as their prices are just too high for multiple prints.

I'm also open to a laser printer. I would like my new printer to be a wide-format if possible, so I can now print my work at 11" x 14" instead of the 8.5" x 11" that I have been using for years.

What about paper? Does anyone know of any photo paper which is glossy, has great results and is also inexpensive? Unfortunately the Likon brand was a hidden gem in this department and was the only one I have found. Can I still get somewhat glossy, high-quality prints while *not* using photo paper?

Any help on what to do from here would be great. A wide-format, inkjet (or laser) printer would suffice. It's got to be economical as well.