Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Printers > Photo Inkjet

Old Feb 5, 2007, 6:02 PM   #1

My R300 is about 14 months old and as developed an paper feed fault.

It is Ok with 80gm paper , it feeds it perfect, loading a single sheet or 20+

But I have been using 140gm paper for around 3 months and suddenly it doesnt feed through. (Same brand ofpaper during the 3 months).

I can sometimes help it to feed, but when it doesnt it feels that something is stopping the paper on the right hand side of the paper feed (as you look at the front of the printer). Even single sheets have problems feeding through.

It has not had a paper misfeed that has torn a sheet and left pieces inside.

Any ideas on what the problem could be.
brianc1957 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 13, 2007, 10:46 PM   #2

I don't use 140gm paper so can't comment on your problem - but have noticed my R300 degrading recently - including a similar paper feed issue. My issues:
1) Can no longer load more than about 10-20 sheets of 80gm paper - otherwise I get a jam - I used to be able to put in a much larger stack (seems like a similar problem to yours - wonder if there is an alignment problem where a tolerance is off somewhere).
2) the buttons are acting up - sometime none respond until I unplug and plug in the printer. Electronic connection are obviously problematic.
3) the print heads also act up - sometimes I will suddenly get an "unrecognized ink cartridge" error message - have to open and reset all ink cartridges to clear - seems like there is dust or something causing a cartridge to sudden stop reading. This happens randomly - not just when I change the cartridge.
4) I get a "general error: see user manual" error in the middle of printing sometimes - this is the most recent error I have started seeing - have to power down (sometimes power down doesn't work with button so have to unplug due to problem 2 above) and then power printer back up n to clear.