Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Printers > Photo Inkjet

Old Mar 6, 2007, 10:14 PM   #1

The 6700D "QUALITY" print settings do not allow me to move the slider bar to the far right -- #1 setting for the highest quality. The #1 shows "gray." This is a new printer and the software was just installed. Can anyone help with this problem? And also recommend the best settings and profiles, etc., etc. I use the Canon paper, photo glossy pro. I print from photoshop CS2. The prints print too dark and towards the red. Thus they have to be tweeked some. This a waste of paper. I am new to printing. But so far after one "test print or two at he most, the prints are great.

Thanks in advance.

SHEP
shepseal is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 7, 2007, 5:42 AM   #2

The setting is grayed out if you don't select photopaper first.
KnightCrawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2007, 8:37 AM   #3

It all depends on which photo paper you are selecting. In order to set the highest level, you need to select Photo Paper Pro. Photo Paper Plus Glossy maximizes to #2.
-Brett
smitbret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2007, 10:03 AM   #4

You'll note that the Canon-supplied profiles give PRx profiles for Photo Paper Pro with x being 1, 2, and 3 (quality levels), while the SPx profiles for Photo Paper Plus, Glossy only have x = 2 and 3. Thus, Canon does not assume (or allow) that you will use this less-expensive paper at the highest quality setting. To get around this, I have ordered a profile for this paper at the highest setting from Cathy's Profiles. It should arrive any day now, and I'll report how well it does.