Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Printers > Photo Inkjet

Old Jul 29, 2003, 9:57 PM   #1

Default Canon i950 fades in 2 weeks

I have a i950 and am very embarrassed/unhappy to report that 2 prints I have made in B&W have faded within 2 weeks of being printed. I printed on Canon "Pro" photopaper. One of the prints was 4x6 and completely faded within 2 weeks, the black becoming blackish-red. The other was a 8x10 that was mainly matted by paper. When I took the print out from behind the matt 2 weeks later, you could easily tell the exposed from unexposed print. Neither print was EVER exposed to direct light or other elements.

I can't believe I am the only one with this experience. I'd love to hear others experiences and find out if there is any solution.
DocDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 30, 2003, 12:48 AM   #2

Hi DocDave,
You definately aren't the "only person with this experience", but perhaps aren't looking at the most productive forum for getting answers and replies to your concerns. If you have not done so, I would very highly recommend that you visit the Dpreview.com "Printers and Printing Forum". The subject of i950 and all inkjet fading problems have been the topic of discussion MANY times there. Some very knowlegeable forum participants there, and the forum is visited quite a bit more than this one. Here is the link to the forum if interested. Curt
http://www.dpreview.com/forums/forum.asp?forum=1003
Digeeedad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2003, 1:50 AM   #3

Thank you!
Old Jul 30, 2003, 11:26 AM   #4

Default RE:

Interesting,

I have had my i950 since June and have printed a number of prints on both the Canon PPP and the Canon Matte Paper... Neither has faded a bit that I can tell. I have them handing up at work.

I will print the same pics out tonight and compare them with the ones from 2 months ago, but as far as i can tell there has been no fading.