Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Printers > Photo Inkjet

Old Sep 4, 2007, 8:32 PM   #1

[align=left]Howdy,

Newbie...first post. BUT, I've been copying the mail here on and off for a couple of years, and need some input from you folks.
I had a Canon S520 printer for several years which performed well. I refilled the cartridges successfully many times. About a year ago, it croaked. I figured I'd get another Canon, and started the prerequisite research. Found out what everyone knows...all the newer printers use cartridges designed to not be refillable. The info was rather scarce at the time, so I blew it off, got an inexpensive Brother laser printer (works wonderfully) for my text needs and figured I'd give it awhile to see if the situation would be rectified through Yankee ingenuity, litigation, or whatever.
To my (and others, I imagine) great disappointment, no ironclad solution to refill cartridges has been found. There are ways to do so, CIS systems, etc., but all seem to have reliability concerns.
Sooooooo, here's my question. I wish to print photos, and do so at an economical rate. I have this Brother printer for text, so the photo printer would be dedicated to photos only. Should I purchase a photo printer and the requisite proprietary inks, and if so, what printer (Canon, Epson, Kodak? I've even looked at the Kodak dye sublimination printer, but the cost per print would be +/- 29 cents). Or, should I just upload them to Walgreens, have them printed at a cost of 24-29 cents per print (depending on how many and including postage back to me), and wait for some attorney to really get ticked at Canon/Epson/etc.?
Thanks in advance for all responses.
[/align]
3T/17A is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 5, 2007, 12:19 AM   #2