Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Printers > Photo Inkjet

Old Feb 28, 2008, 10:45 AM   #1

I have had my photo 1400 and a CIS system from ink.supply.hk for about 1 week, and so far am very happy with both the printer and the CIS. I'd be happy to discuss any issues or questions people may have about them. Bear in mind that I am a professional musician, not a photographer, and would most likely be of little help to anyone wanting detailed technical help with anything relateing to photography. There is at least 1 issue I discovered and solved to my satisfaction relating to the cover of the cartrage carriage and installation of a CIS.
Wayne Martz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 28, 2008, 5:39 PM   #2

Wayne,

Am doing the same thing.

What did you do about the cartridge hatch cover? What did you do to remove the cover? Did you have to "break" the cover hinge pin receptor on the cartridge box? Does the cover even have to be removed to use the CIS system from Inkjetfly?

I ordered the Inkjetfly Big Foot with the dye ink. Leo there said you could use pigment ink with this printer. How do you feel about that?

Thank you,

Gritty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 29, 2008, 6:18 PM   #3

Yes, I did have to sort of break the cover. The left side comes out easily, but the right was designed to be unremovable. Here's what I did. First I got the left side free. I found that with a small flat head screwdriver, I was able to move the right side pin out a bit. Not much. I decided tohave a friend holdthe cover pried out and cut the pin. I got lucky and found a hot knife, designed for craft work. I was able to cut through the pin quickly and neatly. With the lid held to the left, I was able to leave enought of the right side pin that I think I could put it back securely. Just have to be careful not to scratch it up, but I think it is the least obvious option, if I wanted to put it back. (not that I ever want to!) Maybe later I'll post some pictures.