Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Printers > Photo Inkjet

Old May 7, 2008, 10:09 AM   #1

Hello everybody

I am a keen semi-pro photographer and I bought a CISS for my printer. I print A3 prints and I printed about 30 A3 prints ok, but now I get streaks appearing with some colours. The problem appears to be with magenta cartridge or printhead. I notice there is some air in the line from the tanks to the ink cartridge could this be the problem. If so any advice to solve the problem would be welcome.

Regards

Alan

atataylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 7, 2008, 10:28 AM   #2
Administrator

Welcome to the Forums.

I've moved this thread down to our Photo Inkjet forum, where you'll be more likely to find some members that can hellp you out with your printer issues.

JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2008, 5:41 PM   #3

Would be useful to know which printer you have and where you got your CIS from, inks used, etc..
websnail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2008, 2:50 AM   #4

Hi Websnail

Thanks for your reply. The printer is a HP, CP1700 and I bought the CIS brand new and boxed off Ebay. The name on the packaging is CIS Ink Supply but they do not appear to have a website or offer support. I tried replacing the print heads but that made no difference at all. Please let me know what you think.

Regards

Alan
Old May 8, 2008, 5:47 AM   #5

If it's an HP specific problem, of course, I won't have a clue, but there are a few things common to CIS units in general and cheap Ebay devices in particular.

First things to check are that the ink is flowing through from the tanks properly — if there's an air leak anywhere between taks and carts, or the carts didn't fill corrrectly, or the cart outlet seals aren't up to scratch you won't get clean printing.

Also ensure that the air vents on the tanks are working — a common cause of bad/no printing is forgetting to remove the transport seals when setting up a new CIS.