Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Printers > Photo Inkjet

Old Feb 5, 2004, 1:49 PM   #1

Default Epson Stylus Photo 700

I have an older DeskJet 722C which isn't a bad printer, but isn't a photo quality printer.

A friend just gave me his old printer (Epson Stylus Photo 700), and since I'm new to photo printers, I thought I'd ask for any advice.... anything, really.

What I've figured out or been told is:
Use Epson inks and don't refill. Ok, you *can* get away with it, but I'm not sure I want to try.

Use Epson paper. Produces the best results with their printers. It was suggested I use Matte Paper Heavyweight & Glossy Photo Paper. I've used the matte (and used "photo quality inkjet paper" for the Media and best for quality.. and the results were very nice.) I haven't tried the Glossy yet.

Turn the printer off on the printer, not by a powerstrip.

Let the inks dry. And expect the picture to look different after it has dried compared to just out of the printer.

Any wisdom you can give me (either with this printer or in general)?

Eric
eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 7, 2004, 10:28 PM   #2

Eric,

Most of what you said is generally true regardless of the printer make. Especially for older printers. You should always use the printer's power button to turn it off so that the print heads are in the proper position and don't dry out.

The default printer color profiles are usually set using it's brand of papers.

Even though a print may appear to be dry, it can take up to 12 hours to "cure".

One more thing, even the cheap $49 newer printer models will give your old printer a good run for the money. Sort of like the way the digital cameras have improved and become cheaper at the same time. I get lab quality prints using my 10D and Canon i950 printer.

Good luck and happy printing! Bill
wsandman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2004, 11:46 PM   #3