Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Printers > Photo Inkjet

Old Nov 14, 2012, 3:35 PM   #1

Default Help choosing a new photo printer

Hi All

I've been using an Epson Stylus Photo R300 for many years and have been very pleased with the photo quality I can get upto A4 on decent photo paper. The time has now come to upgrade it.

I'm not looking to spend more than around 200 but I want to get the best photos I can from the printer. Brand wise, I would consider another Epson or a Canon, but the reviews are so confusing!

I thought I had settled on an Epson Photo PX830 (found one for 150) but they tell me it's been discontinued. Then there is the PX730 but is this as good? Then I saw the Canon Pixma iX6550 recommended for photo quality.

My Requirements are:

To be used with Imac with photoshop & lightroom
Not for commercial purposes, just to print at home for albums and frames occasionally
Wireless so I can keep it in a cupboard
I want the best quality photo printing possible for my budget (colour & B&W)

Anything else such as a good scanner, decent text printing, fast speeds etc are just an added bonus. My main consideration is best quality for reasonable up front cost of printer. I will never print directly from memory cards directly through the printer, it will always be via my computer.

I know it works out cheaper to send photos off to a printer, but I quite enjoy having the ability to print photos myself when I wish to. Ink costs etc are not a concern.

Any help / suggestions would be greatly appreciated

Finally - does anybody know whether the new Epson Expression range is any good? They seem to be replacing the Stylus range in the shops but I can't find many reviews!

Thanks
pete146 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 14, 2012, 5:07 PM   #2

Default New printer

I bought a Epson Stylus Photo R 2880 and am very pleased with it.
quinton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 10:52 PM   #3