Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Printers > Photo Inkjet

Old Mar 8, 2004, 9:22 PM   #1

Default Canon i9100 vs Epson 1280

Hello. I am thinking about getting a new printer, and I think I am deciding between the two of this printers (Canon i9100 vs Epson 1280). The reason I picked these two is because they print up to 13"x 19". Secondly, because they are both under $500.

I guess what I am asking is, which is a better printer. First thing I am looking for is quality. Second would be cost of ink replacement and how often do they need replaced and lastly, of paper choices. (Like if they can use other papers then their own.) I am a graphic design student and I print out photos and illustrations and things of that nature.

Thanks for all your help. And if you have any other printer suggestions that would be appricated as well.

Tait
Taitum is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 14, 2004, 6:50 PM   #2

Hrm.. since no one respond.. any thoughts at all about either printer? I dont mean to be a pest.. Im just really needed a new printer for my classes.. and I guess I just wanna get the best bang for my buck..

Thanks again
Tait
Old Mar 14, 2004, 6:59 PM   #3

If the 1280 is like other Epsons, you always have the printhead clogging problem to deal with unless you use the printer frequently. My understanding from reading other posts is that both printers make fine prints.
Barry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2004, 8:42 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taitum
Hrm.. since no one respond.. any thoughts at all about either printer? I dont mean to be a pest.. Im just really needed a new printer for my classes.. and I guess I just wanna get the best bang for my buck..

Thanks again
Tait
1) Posting this in the wide format injet forum might get some more responses.